National Senior Health and Fitness Day

You’re invited to join us at our locations across Chester County. You do not need to be a YMCA member to attend. 

May 29, 2019

National Senior Health & Fitness Day is a nationwide health and fitness event for older adults, held on the last Wednesday in May. This year marks the 26th anniversary and to celebrate more than 120,000 older adults will participate in events at more than 1,200 locations across the country. 

The event’s goals are to promote the importance of regular physical activity and to showcase what local organizations are doing to improve the health and fitness of older adults in their communities.

Brandywine YMCA

9:30 a.m. –3 p.m.

Join us for lawn and picnic games, group exercise classes and fitness demonstrations. Contact Corrie Ortega at cortega@ymcagbw.org for more information. 

Jennersville YMCA

Join us for an Open House featuring food, raffles, additional group exercise classes, pickleball games, blood pressure checks and more. Bring a friend and be entered into a giveaway! For more information, contact Sherri Capecci at scapecci@ymcagbw.org or Anne Coldesina at acoldesina@ymcagbw.org

Kennett Area YMCA

8 a.m.-  2 p.m.

Join us for an open house featuring advice from a dietician, pickleball, and specialty group exercise classes including:

  • 8:10 am. – FitLite
  • 9:05 a.m. – Belly Dance
  • 10:30 a.m. – Parkinson’s Cycle
  • 11 a.m. – Arthritis Aqua
  • 1:15 p.m. – Gentle Yoga

For more information, contact Jen Mincer at jmincer@ymcagbw.org.

Lionville Community YMCA

8 a.m. – 8 p.m.

Join us for an open house featuring the following classes and activities:

  • 8:30 a.m. – Aqua Fit
  • 9:00 a.m. – Aqua Fit
  • 9:00 a.m. – 1 p.m. – SEPTA Senior Card sign up 
  • 11:30 a.m. – Silver Sneakers
  • 12:30 p.m. – Parkinson’s Cycle
  • 12:30 p.m.- Gentle Stretch
  • 1:00 p.m. – Body Fit 
  • 8:00 p.m. - Pickleball

For more information, contact Sherri Clapp at sclapp@ymcagbw.org or Karen Cichewicz at kcichewicz@ymcagbw.org.

Upper Main Line YMCA

8 a.m. – 2 p.m.

Join us for an open house featuring the following group exercise classes:

  • 8 a.m. – Body Fit
  • 9 a.m. – Aqua Pilates
  • 10 a.m. - Aqua Fit Lite 
  • 10 a.m. – Aqua Fit Deep
  • 11 a.m. – Aqua Stretch and Flex
  • 11 a.m. – Senior Classic 45
  • 12:30 p.m. – Chair Yoga
  • 1 p.m. – Pickleball

For more information contact Paula Sauer at psauer@ymcagbw.org.

West Chester Area YMCA

8 a.m. – 2 p.m.

Join us for an open house featuring the following classes and activities:

  • 8:45 a.m. – Lite Strength
  • 9 a.m. – Aqua Fit Deep
  • 10 a.m. – Yoga Stretch
  • 11 a.m. – Pilates
  • 11:35 a.m. – Tai Chi 45
  • 11:45 a.m. – Arthritis Aqua
  • 12 p.m. – Parkinson’s Cycle
  • 1:30 p.m. – Zumba Gold

For more information, contact Chrissy Blum at cblum@ymcagbw.org.


The YMCA is free for seniors on May 29, 2019 and seniors who bring a guest will not need to use a guest pass. All guests will need to bring a valid photo ID. 

Category: Seniors